The Men’s and Women’s Victorian Open is the premier event on the Golf Victoria calendar for both amateurs and professionals.

Commencing in 1957 at Riversdale, the inaugural Men’s Open title was won by Ossie Pickworth. However, many world famous players have claimed the title including Australia’s five time British Open winner, Peter Thomson (1958, 1968 and 1973); South Africa’s Gary Player (1959); Bruce Devlin (1962 and 1963); Kel Nagle (1967 and 1969); David Graham (1970); Greg Norman (1984) and Robert Allenby (1991).

The Women’s Championship was first played in 1988 but experienced a 20 year hiatus after the 1992 event. The Championship was reintroduced by Golf Victoria and was simultaneously staged with the Men’s Open at the Spring Valley and Woodlands Golf Clubs in January 2012, a unique concept in golf tournaments.

The Women’s Open was played over 54 holes stroke play with 18 holes played on Friday at Woodlands before the final two rounds were held at Spring Valley in conjunction with the Men’s Open. A maximum starting field of 84 players was set for the 2012 event with the 50 leading players plus ties progressing to the final round after a 36-hole cut.

Since moving to 13th Beach in 2013, the event has grown from strength to strength. In 2017, Golf Victoria has warmly welcomed the announcement by the Victorian Minister for Sport John Eren MP of a $1.1 million funding boost for the Vic Open over the next two years.

In 2018, the shared prize pool was greater than ever before, with the men’s and women’s fields competing for $650,000 each, up $150,000 each on last year.

The Vic Open again provided the perfect tune-up for some of the world’s leading ladies, with the ISPS HANDA Women’s Australian Open contested in Adelaide just a fortnight later.

The Vic Open kickstarts a huge three weeks for women’s golf in Australia, with the ALPG Tour launching the new ActewAGL Canberra Classic the week following the Vic Open.

The men’s event was again one of the landmark stops in the early stages of the PGA Tour of Australasia season, with the ISPS HANDA World Super 6 Perth played the following week.


Find out more about the Oates Vic Open



Honour Roll

Men’s Victorian Open

1957 H.H.A. Pickworth (Vic)
1958 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1959 G. Player (Sth Africa)
1960 J. Harris (Vic)
1961 A.A. Murray (NSW)
1962 B.W. Devlin (NSW)
1963 B.W. Devlin (NSW)
1964 F. Phillips (NSW)
1965 A.A. Murray (NSW)
1966 F. Phillips (NSW)
1967 K.D. Nagle (NSW)
1968 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1969 K.D. Nagle (NSW)
1970 D. Graham (NSW)
1971 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1972 W.J. Godfrey (NZ)
1973 P.W. Thomson (Vic)
1974 J.C. Davis (Vic)
1975 S.P. Ginn (Vic)
1976 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1977 G.L. Parslow (Vic)
1978 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1979 R.M. Davis (NSW)
1980 G.B. Wolstenholme (Vic)
1981 E.W. Dunk (NSW)
1982 M.A. Clayton (Vic)
1983 R.A. Shearer (Vic)
1984 G.J. Norman (QLD)
1985 I.M. Baker-Finch (QLD)
1986 O.D. Moore (QLD)
1987 R.J. Mackay (WA)
1988 J.L. Benepe (USA)
1989 M.A. Clayton (Vic)
1990 Not played
1991 R.M. Allenby (Vic) (A)
1992 I.E. Stanley (Vic)
1993 L.J. Parsons (NSW)
1994 P. Burke (USA)
1995 S.Leaney (WA)
1996 Not Played
1997 S. Leaney (WA)
1998 B. King (WA)
1999 K. Druce (Qld)
2000 B. Lamb (Vic) (A)
2001 S. Laycock (Vic)
2002 A. Stolz (NSW)
2003 Not Played
2004 G. Paddison (NZ)
2005 K. Barnes (Qld)
2006 D. Diaz (Vic)
2007 K. Felton (WA)
2008 Not Played
2009 A. Hall (Vic)
2010 J. Norris (Vic)
2011 P. Sheehan (NSW)
2012 S. Arnold (NSW)
2013 M. Giles (NSW)
2014 M. Griffin
2015 R. Green
2016 M. Long (Nzl)
2017 D.Papadatos (NSW)
2018 S. Hawkes (Vic)


Women’s Victorian Open

1988 Helen Hopkins (WA)
1989 Susan Tonkin (SA)
1990 Dale Reid (Scot)
1991 Jennifer Wyatt (Can)
1992 Wendy Doolan (NSW)
2012 Joanna Klatten (Fra)
2013 S. Keating (Vic)
2014 M. Lee (WA)
2015. M. Skarpnord
2016 G. Hall (Eng)
2017 M.Reid (Eng)
2018 M. Lee (WA)

Sign Up, Stay Informed.

Sign up, Stay informed.

Sign up for the 13th Beach newsletter
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Follow us on Instagram